RSU1 Librarian Laura Phelps Named 2019 Walter J. Taranko Award Recipient

On Friday, April 5th students and staff at Phippsburg Elementary School surprised librarian, Laura Phelps, with the announcement that she is the 2019 Maine Association of School Librarians, Walter J. Taranko Award winner. The Walter J Taranko Award is given in recognition of excellence in school library work within the State of Maine. It is awarded annually to a school librarian who embodies his traits of collaboration, advocacy, outreach, and mentoring. The award is given to librarians who have made significant contribution to the school librarian profession on the state or local level. On hand to present the award of a plaque, flowers and a check for the library were Tina Taggart, Librarian, MASL Past President and Mr. Taranko's son, Adam Taranko and daughter Amy Taranko. 

Congratulations to Laura Phelps!